Monday, 11 January 2016

Breaking News: Dickson wins Bayelsa polls

Governor Seriake Dickson of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won the Bayelsa supplementary governorship poll following official results collated and announced by the Independent National Electoral
Commission (INEC).

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared the Peoples Democratic Party( PDP) candidate, Governor Henry Seriake Dickson winner of the Bayelsa state governorship election after the supplementary governorship election held on January 9th in Southern Ijaw local area and 101 polling units in six other councils.

Dickson who was leading his closest rival Timipre Sylva of the All Progressive Congress (APC) with 33,000 votes winning in six of the seven local government areas in the results declared after the December 5th governorship election extended his lead in the six local government areas in the supplementary election.

In the result declared by INEC, Dickson still cleared the votes in the supplementary election in Nembe, Yenagoa, Ekeremor, Ogbia, Sagbama local government areas and lost in Brass where the APC polled 1657 while PDP polled 5 votes.

In Southern Ijaw with 120,827 registered voters and 35594 accredited voters, in 17 wards, Dickson polled 23081 to defeat Sylva who scored 10216.

120 units in 14 wards with 39679 votes were cancelled due to snatching of ballot boxes, over voting and non-use of card reader.

The Returning Officer, Prof Zana Akpagu announced that Dickson having satisfied the constitutional requirement by scoring the highest number of votes of 134 998 against his closest rival, Sylva who scored 86 852, has been declared as winner of the election and returned elected.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...